We’ve Got Answers!
What happens to tracked user activity if I delete a recipe?
When you delete a recipe, EVERYTHING is deleted, including all trigger records in the system. Be very careful if you delete recipes, because there is simply no way to recover data associated with that recipe. (If a trigger is in more than one recipe, the recorded actions for the other recipe will still be retained; only records related to the recipe being deleted are affected.)
What if I deactivate or remove a plugin associated with a recipe?
If the plugin was included in any triggers, the recipe can no longer be completed. Actions will never run. The recipe will remain intact but will effectively become locked. If the plugin was associated with actions, those actions will simply be skipped. There is no way to trigger them again later, so be very careful about deactivating and deleting plugins associated with active recipes.
Do recipes work with batch operations, like uploading users?
Many batch operations in plugins skip the normal processes and Automator can’t recognize them. Anything that goes directly to the database, like user uploads, is an example of this. For some LMS plugins, bulk adding users to a course might also cause recipes tied to those behaviours to get skipped. There is unfortunately no way for us to change this behaviour; our Automator triggers rely on normal operations from the plugin integrations, which are sometimes skipped in batch operations.
Is the Uncanny Automator GDPR Compliant?
Uncanny Automator can be GDPR compliant, but whether or not it is for you depends on what data you capture and how you use it. If you have recipes that capture form data that includes personally identifiable information then you are likely to run into GDPR challenges. Always make sure to only capture as much information as you need to create recipes and no more, and if you do capture personally identifiable information in your recipes, make sure you make your users aware of it. Automator does include a tool to remove records if you receive a request to provide or delete someone’s data.
What happens if I delete a trigger or action?
Deleting triggers and actions live recipes is always risky and should be done with extreme caution. Triggers carry the most risk when multiple triggers are in a recipe. If a recipe has 2 triggers and some users have completed the first but not the second, if you delete the second trigger nothing will happen. The existing users that have trigger records will be stuck because there is no second trigger available to fire the recipe. In situations like this, you might consider replacing it with a second trigger that can easily be triggered by everyone, like a visit to the landing page where users arrive after they sign in. That will cause the recipe to fire for those historical users will ensuring other users are still excluded because of the first trigger.
Will the Uncanny Automator slow down my site?
The answer depends heavily on how you use Automator—if you have dozens of recipes, tens of thousands of users, and your recipes are very complex with many triggers and actions, then yes, there could be a marginal performance hit. Try to collect only as much data as you need; as an example, we discourage using the plugin as an analytics tool (e.g. setting up recipes to track all page visits across a site). For general use and in the vast majority of situations, you shouldn’t notice any performance impact while using Automator.
Is the plugin translation friendly?
Absolutely! The plugin was created with translation in mind and tested with a variety of translation plugins. We will support translation issues if you run into any.
Does the plugin work in a multisite environment?
It does! Make sure you use our Agency plan though so what we can offer support for your Multisite installs.
What's your refund policy?
We’ll refund your purchase, no questions asked, if it’s within 30 days of purchase. There’s no risk in trying out Uncanny Automator!
After 30 days we’re unable to offer refunds.
Find out how the Uncanny Automator WordPress plugin can save you time and money while making your site easier to use and more personalized